Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Radiator Springs Racer, Cars Land, Transformers, Winners 2013 THEA Awards !

Radiators Springs Racer and Transformers The Ride are the 2013 THEA Awards winners in the attraction category "for outstanding achievement". And Cars Land also won a THEA Award in the "new theme park land " category as well as the Carthay Circle Restaurant and Lounge in “theme-park restaurant” category. And Aulani, Disney’s resort in Hawaii, was also recognized in the category of “themed hotel resort”. 

The Themed Entertainment Association annually presents the "Thea" award to projects whose achievement has been determined to be of "outstanding" quality. The award is for people or parks in the themed entertainment industry, selected by people from the industry. I think it's fair to say that the winners totally deserves these THEA Awards, which are for theme park designers what the Academy Awards are for actors and movie directors.

Last April, in my "Why Radiator Springs Racer vs Transformers Ride Will be the E-Ticket Match of the Year" article i wrote: "So, who will "win" this E-Ticket match of the year? Personally i think there will be no winner, the two rides are so good and so different that both will be a different and tremendously enjoyable experience". Yes, both Transformers and Radiator Springs Racer are different but fantastic rides, and 
their designers really deserves these awards. All my congrats to all of them!

Also, Frank Stanek, who helped expand Disney and Universal theme parks into Asia and Europe, was given the Buzz Price Award for a “lifetime of distinguished achievements.”
Others Thea winners were Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in Calgary (museum); Aquanura at Efteling Park in the Netherlands (event spectacular); The Big-O Experience, part of South Korea’s Yeosu 2012 International Expo (event spectacular); the Tait Pixel Tablets used in the Opening Ceremonies of the London Olympics (outstanding technology); The Making of Harry Potter, London (sutdio tour) and Europa-Park of Rust, Germany (Thea Classic).
The 2013 THEA Awards gala will be held April 6, 2013, at the Disneyland Resort.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Congratulations Disney! And of course, congratulations Efteling and WET!